Are You Growing Your Spiritual Muscle? (Missionary Guest Post)

[Note:  this post is written by a Converge Worldwide missionary appointee whose name I have chosen to withhold]

Are you growing your spiritual muscle?

Recently, we were blessed to celebrate my grandmother’s 90th birthday.  This time of celebration brought a certain truth into focus:  no matter our age, station in life or many accomplishments, God never stops desiring for us to continue to know him better.

Do we still need to learn from God?

As long as we are participating in life here on earth, we will never know all there is to know about God and his character.  We continue to learn about Him till our last day.  I wonder how many of us get to a point in our lives where we no longer think that we need to learn from God.

Earlier this year we came alongside our home church for missions month.  We experienced an exercise that enabled us to understand better what it would be like to be part of an underground body of believers.  One of our desires was to understand the freedom that we have here in the States and recognize that many believers throughout this world are willing to risk everything for our Savior.

he will be like a tree planted by streams of water which yields its fruit in season

What are you willing to do in the name of Jesus?  Is your faith in Him strong?

There are no recipes to our relationship with the Lord, but I want to challenge you to be open to whatever it is that God is calling you to do.  I promise that the rewards God has for you as you obey his calling are greater than you can ever know.

What an amazing God we have who never gives up on us and continues to be a part of our lives from our first breath to our last.  I don’t know about you but I don’t want to miss any opportunity to learn and grow from the Master.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Are You Growing Your Spiritual Muscle? (Missionary Guest Post)”

  1. dddamaris Says:

    I am learning what it means to “risk everything for our Savior.” Some of my ministry involvements risk other important areas in my life. Every time I’m afraid I might lose my job or friendships because of what i know Father has called me to do I have to force my faith on Father and remind myself through prayer that He will protect me – in his own way. It’s so scary sometimes. But I’m learning He’s got it and He’s had it together before I even came into the picture. It is hard to exercise your spiritual muscles – it is a joy – but no one said it was gonna be easy. Thank you for sharing this challenge and reminder.

    Reply

  2. Brian Stankich Says:

    Damaris, thank YOU for giving what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

    Brian

    Reply

  3. joannajava Says:

    I think I might have experienced my greatest growth this week. I was afraid daily. I was weak. I struggled to be healthy. I am living on the border of a hostile country in Asia. We lost our electricity so the only “light” I had was from my I Pod. Scripture was on the screen from my last quiet time with the Lord. It is true that Gods word is a lamp for our feet. I made it through a week where i had to cling to Him nearly every moment asking for grace. He provided everything I needed. I am growing with each experience of God’s faithfulness and goodness. We are on a journey. This week was hard but I learned I can trust in a greater way and I wouldnt trade this new understanding for an easier week.

    Reply

  4. Brian Stankich Says:

    JJ, thanks for sharing the journey that you are on! How exciting that your trust is growing more and more. More than that, praise God for his faithfulness to you. I am grateful, sister. Talk about growing spiritual muscle!

    Reply

  5. Muscle Relaxer Says:

    It is really good to know about this one. Taking risk for our Savior is what we need to do. Our Savior is our life and our strength, He gave us everything to us like life and we tend to destroy it. When I read this one, I am really enlightened and encourage myself to go for a better change.

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Short-term Mission Trips: Take a Year to Change the World – And Yourself (Guest Post) « FULFILL - December 8, 2011

    […] Are You Growing Your Spiritual Muscle? […]

Leave a Reply

